This is a comparison of what four jewellery brands publish about hallmarking, exchange, buyback, returns and diamond certification, read on 12 October 2026. It is not a ranking and it names no winner, because the right brand depends on whether you want a showroom or an online-first brand, plain gold or diamonds, and how much you care about exchange and buyback. What you can do is compare brands on checks that can be verified.
It does not rest on buying or testing anything. Everything about a brand below comes from that brand's own published pages, read on 12 October 2026, with the source link and date given for each brand. Policies change, often around festivals, so treat each line as a pointer to what to ask, not as a promise. If a brand's terms change, tell us and we will update this page.
How we compare, and what we left out
We use six checks that you can verify on the brand's site or on your invoice:
- BIS hallmark and HUID. Does the brand state that its gold jewellery follows BIS hallmarking?
- Exchange terms. What does the brand say about swapping old gold for new?
- Buyback terms. Is there a published figure, and what is deducted?
- Return window. Can you return an online order, for how long, and what is excluded?
- Diamond certification. Which labs does the brand name, if it sells diamonds?
- Reach. Is there a store network, an online store, or both?
We left out anything that cannot be checked, such as claims about quality, "best design" or "most trusted". We also left out making charges as a brand comparison. They depend on the design, the weight and the day, so the only fair comparison is two written quotes for the same piece. We show you how to get those below.
First, what BIS hallmarking means and why every brand should be asked about it
Under the BIS system, hallmarked gold jewellery carries three marks: the BIS mark, a purity mark showing carat and fineness (for example 22K916), and a six-character alphanumeric HUID that is unique to each piece. BIS says the mandatory grades are 14, 18, 20, 22, 23 and 24 carat, and that buyers can verify a HUID in the BIS Care app.
Hallmarking is mandatory in the districts BIS has notified: 380 from 2 March 2026, extended by later orders (a Third Amendment Order of 3 August 2026 took it to 392 districts, according to Business Standard), so check the current BIS list for your district.
BIS lists exemptions, including jewellers with annual turnover up to ₹40 lakh, pieces weighing under two grams and Kundan, Polki and Jadau jewellery, so a tiny piece may legitimately carry no HUID. Where it applies, a hallmark is not a brand perk, it is the rule, and any jeweller can be asked to show it.
Elsewhere you can still ask whether a piece is hallmarked. If you want the purity maths first, read our guide to 22K vs 24K gold.
The comparison at a glance
The table lists what each brand says on its own pages, as read on 12 October 2026 (links and details are in the sections below). A blank or cautious cell means the brand's page does not state it clearly, or that we could not open it, which is a prompt to ask in the shop, not a judgement on the brand. Brands appear in alphabetical order.
| Brand | BIS hallmark | Exchange and buyback (as published) | Returns (online) | Diamond certification | Reach |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BlueStone | FAQ says all gold jewellery is BIS hallmarked | FAQ describes lifetime exchange and buyback; buyback refunds 90% of the total amount after deductions for making charges and discounts | 30-day money back policy; not applicable on solitaires, gold coins, customised orders, silver coins and silver jewellery | FAQ names IGI, GIA or HKD | Online store plus stores (homepage lists 125+ cities) |
| CaratLane | Not stated on the pages we read; check the product page | 15-day exchange on gold jewellery; lifetime exchange (per brand blog) | Homepage lists 15-day returns | Certificate needed at exchange; recertification offered if lost (per brand blog) | Online store plus a store locator |
| Senco Gold and Diamonds | Homepage says BIS hallmarked gold | Homepage says 0% deduction on old gold exchange and buyback for Senco jewellery | Homepage lists a 7 days return policy | Homepage says certified diamonds with buyback guarantee | Homepage says 200+ stores plus website and app |
| Tanishq | Not read: the site blocked our reader | Not read: terms change, so confirm in store | Not read: confirm on the Tanishq site | Check the product page | Check tanishq.co.in |
A few lines on each brand follow, with the source and the date we read it, so you can see exactly which published claim each cell comes from.
Tanishq
We could not open Tanishq's help, exchange or returns pages for this comparison: its website refused our automated reader on 12 October 2026. So we are not repeating any Tanishq claim here, and we would rather leave the cells above open than guess.
Exchange terms at every large jeweller change, often by festival, and they can differ for gold bought from another jeweller, so confirm the current written terms in store or on tanishq.co.in before you plan around any headline.
The useful questions are the same as for any brand. How is the exchange value worked out on your own piece? Is it the gold value of the net weight at that day's rate? Are stones and enamel valued separately? Do making charges and GST from the original purchase come back?
CaratLane
CaratLane's blog post on its 15-day easy exchange (read on 12 October 2026) describes exchanging gold jewellery within 15 days of purchase, for an equal or higher-priced item with the difference paid, or a refund depending on the store's policy.
The piece must be in original condition, with no signs of damage, wear and tear or tampering. The post also describes a lifetime exchange policy. It says the invoice and the certificate of authenticity must be presented at exchange, and that if you cannot produce the certificate, CaratLane will send the piece to the lab for recertification.
CaratLane's homepage, read the same day, lists 15-day returns, a gold exchange page and a store locator, and the text we could read did not mention BIS hallmarking.
That blog page is undated, and its images appear to be from late 2023, so confirm the current windows on the live product and policy pages. For the hallmark, check the product page of the exact piece, since it is the product page that lists purity and weight.
Senco Gold and Diamonds
Senco's homepage, read on 12 October 2026, lists BIS hallmarked pure gold, zero deduction gold exchange, guaranteed buyback, tested and certified diamonds and a 7 days return policy among its benefits. It describes 0% deduction on old gold exchange and buyback for Senco jewellery, and says it has 200+ stores, with a website, customer care, video calls and a mobile app as other ways to shop. No terms or conditions are shown on that page.
Ask what "0% deduction" covers: the gold only, or also stones, making charges and wastage? Get the answer in writing on your invoice.
BlueStone
BlueStone's FAQ page, read on 12 October 2026, carries a 2025 copyright line and no effective date. It says all its gold jewellery is BIS hallmarked and that diamond and gemstone jewellery is certified by IGI, GIA or HKD.
It describes a 30-day money back policy, with solitaires, gold coins, customised orders, silver coins and silver jewellery excluded. For lifetime buyback it says it refunds 90% of the total amount after deductions for making charges and discounts, and 80% of current market value for solitaires, with a value limit of ₹1,00,000 for solitaires.
The same page mentions a ₹500 deduction against return shipping on the exchange and buyback, which sits awkwardly with other sections that describe free return shipping, so ask which applies to your order. This is a good example of why you should read the whole terms page, not just the headline percentage.
Other national chains: Kalyan, Malabar and Joyalukkas
Kalyan Jewellers, Malabar Gold and Diamonds and Joyalukkas each publish their own exchange and buyback terms. We have not read them for this page, so we make no claim about them. If you shop there, run each through the same six checks above, make sure you are reading the India page and not the UAE, UK or US one, and ask for the current written terms at the counter.
Exchange and buyback are two different things
People use the words interchangeably, and brands do not always. An exchange means you trade old jewellery against the price of new jewellery in the same shop. A buyback means the shop pays you money for the piece. Exchange terms are usually more generous because the money stays with the seller. Buyback terms usually deduct something.
Read the following before relying on either:
- Is the value based on the gold rate on the day you return it, or the rate on the day you bought?
- Are making charges, GST, stones and discounts returned, or deducted? BlueStone's published terms, for example, say making charges and discounts are deducted.
- Do you need the original invoice and certificate? CaratLane's blog says both must be presented at exchange. For any brand, ask what is needed for a piece you bought from them and for gold bought elsewhere.
- Is the payout cash, bank transfer or store credit?
- Is there a time window or a value cap?
A cleaner way to think about it is to assume you will not get back the making charges and the GST. Then everything else is a bonus. Our guide to gold making charges in India shows what that portion usually looks like on a bill.
How to compare making charges fairly across brands
Do not ask "what are your making charges?" and compare headline percentages. Instead, pick one piece, such as a plain 22K chain of about 10 grams or a pair of studs, and ask each shop for a written quote that lists:
- net gold weight in grams and the carat
- the gold rate used for that carat that day
- the making charge, in rupees per gram and in total
- any wastage, stone or hallmarking charge
- GST at 3% on the total
- the final price
BIS's consumer FAQ says the bill for a hallmarked article should show its description, net weight, carat and fineness, and the hallmarking charge. If a quote hides any of these, ask for it. Published guides, such as Aditya Birla Capital's (updated 12 October 2026), quote per-gram making charges of about ₹150 to ₹250 for plain chains, ₹200 to ₹600 for earrings and ₹400 to ₹800 for 18 carat jewellery, so a gap between two shops is normal.
What is not normal is a quote that does not let you see the sum. The step-by-step method is in how to calculate gold price in India.
Online-first or showroom: which suits you?
An online-first brand such as BlueStone or CaratLane gives you product pages with prices and return windows, so you can compare quietly before you commit. A showroom chain gives you the weighing scale, the karat meter and a person to talk to, and often a larger range of heavier festive and bridal designs.
Most big brands now do both, so the choice is more about what you need to check than where you shop.
- For a daily-wear piece, an online-first brand with a clear return window is convenient. See gold earrings for daily use.
- For a heavy gold purchase, going in person lets you see the weighing and the purity test.
- For diamond jewellery, the certificate matters more than the shop's building. Read the certificate details before you pay. Our guide to laboratory-grown vs natural diamonds explains what to look for.
Questions to ask in the shop
- Is this piece BIS hallmarked, and can I see the HUID? (You can verify it in the BIS Care app.)
- What are the exchange and buyback terms for this exact piece, in writing?
- Do you return making charges and GST on exchange or buyback?
- Who certifies the diamond, and will the certificate be handed over today?
- What is the return or exchange window if I change my mind?
- Can I have the full price breakup, with the gold rate and the making charge on the quote?
Buying in the festive and wedding season
Demand for gold and diamonds rises around Dhanteras, Diwali and the wedding season, and shops often run limited-period offers on making charges or exchange. Dhanteras falls on Friday 6 November in most 2026 calendars, but dates vary by region and panchang, so check your local one.
Offers have start and end dates, so read the dates and conditions before you assume an exchange or making-charge discount applies to you. Our guide to Dhanteras 2026: what to buy and what to skip covers the buying side.
If you want to browse before you decide, you can look at the ranges of CaratLane, BlueStone and Tanishq online, then use the checks above on whichever you shortlist.
Frequently asked questions
Which jewellery brand should I choose in India?
There is no single answer. Compare brands on checks you can verify: BIS hallmark, written exchange and buyback terms, return window and diamond certification. Choose the one whose written terms suit what you plan to buy and whether you may exchange it later.
Is hallmarked jewellery more expensive?
A hallmark adds a small hallmarking charge shown on the bill, and it is mandatory for covered gold jewellery sold in notified districts, not an optional upgrade. BIS's consumer FAQ says the bill should show the hallmarking charge, so you can see exactly what you paid.
Do all jewellers buy back gold at the same rate?
No. Buyback and exchange terms are set by each seller and can change. Published terms differ in what is deducted, whether a bill is needed and whether the value is cash or store credit. Ask for the terms for your exact piece in writing.
Can I return jewellery bought online?
Many online sellers offer a return window. BlueStone's FAQ describes a 30-day money back policy and CaratLane's homepage lists 15-day returns, as read on 12 October 2026. Exclusions such as solitaires, coins and customised pieces are common, so read the exclusions before you order.
How do I check if a diamond certificate is genuine?
Match the report number on the certificate to the number laser-inscribed on the stone's girdle, then verify the number on the issuing lab's website. A jeweller can show you the inscription under magnification. If the details do not match, do not buy.
Your next step: shortlist two brands, pick one piece, and ask both for a written quote and the written exchange terms before you decide. For the maths, start with how to calculate gold price in India, then read gold making charges in India and laboratory-grown diamond ring price in India if diamonds are on your list.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we earn






































